Tour Auto Optic 2000: 1st entry list

The Tour Auto Optic 2000 will be run for the 28th time between 29th April and 5th May 2019. No fewer than 230 cars will set off from the Grand Palais (Paris) for Deauville. With 130 days to go to the start the first entry list has just been unveiled.

The first list comprises 162 entrants (82 in competition, 80 in regularity), and it already includes some exceptional motor cars like  a BMW 507 and two BMW M1s, Ferrari 250 GT Lussos, 250 GT Boanos, and 275 GTBs, Ford GT40s, a Ligier JS2 and a Maserati 200 Sl. There are also some well-known names like Michelin starred chefs Michel Chabran, Jean-Paul Lacombe and Michel Rostang, faithful regulars in the event. Crews that are among the hot favourites for victory are also on this initial list such as Jean-Pierre Lajournade-Christophe Bouchet (1962 3.8L E-Type Jaguar), James Cottingham-Andrew Smith (1963 Shelby Cobra 289) and Raphaël Favaro-Yves Badain (Lotus Elan) the winning duo in 2018 who will put their title at stake next year!

A reminder that eligible models are those entered for the race between 1951 and 1973 (a few exceptions are allowed). The 28th Tour Auto Optic 2000 will honour vanished English makes and already on the list is a 1949 Healey Silverstone entered by a Japanese crew, a 1954 Frazer Nash Le Mans Coupé, as well as a 1953 Sunbeam Alpine Roadster and several Triumph TR2s and TR3s.

There’s no time to lose for late-comers who want to be among the 68 entries that still have to be validated. The selection committee will meet again in January 2019. Watch this space!