The Peter Auto season will begin in Spain for the fourth year running. After Jarama in 2016 and 2017, the Montmelo circuit to the north of Barcelona has been chosen to host the grids by Peter Auto for the second year on the bounce.


The name of the event is a reference to the former Barcelona city circuit on the Montjuïc Mountain where the Spanish F1 Grand Prix was held from 1969 to 1975 in alternation with Jarama. Because of German driver Rolf Stommelen’s tragic accident in the 1975 race, which caused five deaths among the spectators, the F1 ruling body decided never to allow another Grand Prix to be held at Montjuïc. Thus, the Spanish round of the F1 World Championship took place at Jarama until 1981 followed by Jerez up till 1990.

The Montmelo circuit was built in 1991 to be used during the 1992 summer Olympics hosted by Barcelona. The start and finish of the cycling sprint race by teams took place on its long main straight.

Above all, Montmélo has been the theatre of 28 Spanish Grands Prix since 1991. The circuit has also become the main F1 test venue because of its variety of straights and corners and its mild winter weather so all the drivers know it like the back of their hand! Since the start of the 1990s all the F1 world champions have won on this circuit (Nigel Mansell, Alain Prost, Damon Hill, Michael Schumacher, Jacques Villeneuve, Mika Häkkinen, Kimi Räikkönen, Fernando Alonso, Jenson Button, Sebastian Vettel, Nico Rosberg and Lewis Hamilton, the last to date) which will host the 8 Peter Auto grids. 


THE GRIDS by Peter Auto

  • Classic Endurance Racing 1 – GTs 1966 / 1974 & Prototypes 1966 / 1971 (entry list)
  • Classic Endurance Racing 2 – GTs 1975 / 1981 & Prototypes 1972 / 1981 (entry list)
  • Heritage Touring Cup – Touring Cars 1966-1984 (entry list)
  • Sixties’ Endurance – Pre-63 sports cars & pre-66 GTs (entry list)
  • Group C – Prototypes from 1982 to 1993 (entry list)
  • 2.0L Cup –2-litre short wheelbase Porsche 911s complying with pre-1966 FIA regulations  (entry list)
  • Endurance Racing Legends – GTs and prototypes from the 1990s / 2000s (entry list)



  • Iberian Historic Endurance



The Greatest’s Trophy is reckoned to be one of the finest GT grids seen on circuits today. It consists of all the really exceptional cars that marked endurance events in the 1950s and 60s. Ferrari, Maserati, Alfa Romeo, Abarth, Bizzarrini, Iso, Lancia, Osca, Stanguellini plus Aston Martin DB4 GTs and DB4 GT Zagatos, Mercedes-Benz 300 SLs and Porsche 550s form grids that are unique in the world at events organised by Peter Auto.

It provides a rare opportunity to see iconic models that raced in the golden age of the greatest makes. The Greatest’s Trophy is delighted to welcome a new partner that shares common values of exclusivity and refinement – La Reserva DE Sotogrande.


On a domain of 600 hectares comprising elegant houses, a golf course and a country club on the Costa del Sol overlooking the Mediterranean, Sotogrande and La Reserva Club offer the best possible experiences in Andalusia to adventurers and those who like travelling in luxury and are also golfing and sun-filled holiday enthusiasts. Numerous exceptional activities take place on the shores of the Mediterranean including wine tasting and whale watching as well as sailing.

In 2019, The Greatest’s Trophy and La Reserva de Sotogrande will be part of six Peter Auto meetings: Espiritu de Montjuïc (5-7 April), Spa-Classic (17-19 May), Grand Prix de l’Age d’Or (7-9 June), Hungaroring-Classic (12-14 July), Monza Historic (20-22 September) and Dix Mille Tours (18-20 October).


La Reserva de Sotogrande

Avenida La Reserva, s/n,

11310 Sotogrande, Cádiz