Euro F2 Classic: the new grid by Peter Auto

The new grid called Euro F2 will race for the first time in the second meeting of the 2017 season at Spa-Classic. It is Peter Auto's first single-seater series and it will join the five already-existing grids taking part in circuit events.

This new grid extends the branches of motor racing already covered as the single-seaters will join the prototypes and Endurance GTs (CER, Group C Racing, Trofeo Nastro Rosso, Sixties' Endurance), as well as the touring saloons and coupes  in the Heritage Touring Cup. The Euro F2 Series will be on the calendar of circuit events for the 2017 season with the exception of the first meeting in Spain (Jarama-Classic).

Peter Auto has created the Formula 2 Challenge for the 2017 season. It is open to Formula 2 cars that made the reputation of the European Championship between 1967 and 1978. At the time F2 was considered as the key to the door of Formula 1, and over a decade it trained drivers who left their mark on the history of motor racing.

Between 1967 and 1978 the champions were: Jacky Ickx, Jean-Pierre Beltoise, Johnny Servoz-Gavin, Clay Regazzoni, Ronnie Peterson, Mike Hailwood, Jean-Pierre Jarier, Patrick Depailler, Jacques Laffite, Jean-Pierre Jabouille, René Arnoux and Bruni Giacomelli. In addition, a large number of chassis constructors did battle in the formula: Alpine, Brabham, Chevron, Ferrari,  Lola, Lotus, March, Martini, Matra, McLaren,  Osella, Ralt, Surtees and Tecno.

As proof that Formula 2 wasn’t just a promotional formula and that its overall level of competitiveness was extremely high, some of the F1 aces of the time raced in selected events. Formula B and Formula Atlantic (two American Series of the same years) cars will complete the field. They will race in two 20-minute heats at the following events: Spa-Classic, Grand Prix de l’Age d’Or, Monza Historic, Hungaroring Classic and the Dix Mille Tours.