Tour Auto 2020, first list of entries

The 29th Tour Auto Optic 2000 will take place from 20th to 25th April 2020. The selection committee has already picked 145 cars including some rare models. Around 100 more entries will be added to this list in the coming weeks.

 There are already some exceptional cars on the first version of the entry list like the Alfa Romeo Giulia TZ (1963), two BMW 3.0 CSLs (1972), three Ferrari 250 GT Berlinettas (1960), a Ford GT40 MkII (1969), a Maserati 200 SI (1957), two Mercedes-Benz 300 SLs (1955) and the exotic Volkswagen Coccinelle 1303 S (1973). Remember that the models accepted are those that entered for the event between 1951 and 1973 with a few exceptions like the Renault 5 Turbo Tour de Corse (1981) present as part of a charitable operation.

In addition, each Tour Auto Optic 2000 highlights a theme. Next year’s event will pay homage to Porsche prototypes 12 of which have already been selected ranging from the 550 Spyder (1956) to the 906 (1966) including the 356 Carrera Abarth (1961) and the 904 (1963).

Also present will be some famous drivers starting with Gérard Larrousse, 3-time winner of the Tour de France Automobile (1969, 1971, 1974) and twice-winner of the 24 Hours of Le Mans (1973, 1974). The former Matra team star will be at the wheel of a 2,5L ST Porsche 911 (1972). Another 24 Hours of Le Mans winner Romain Dumas (2010, 2013, 2016) will be making his Tour Auto Optic 2000 debut in a Porsche 356 B Carrera Abarth GTL. The two Frenchmen will be competing in the regularity category in the rally unlike Thierry Boutsen from Belgium – three victories in Formula 1 (1989 & 1990) – also having his first outing in the event in the competition category in a 2,0L Porsche 911 (1965).

Some of the crews who are potential outright victory contenders in the VHC competition category also appear on this list like Lajournade-Bouchet in an E-Type Jaguar (1962), Cottingham-Smith at the wheel of a Shelby Cobra (1963) and Kohler-Laboisne in a Lotus Elan (1965). The winner of the last two events, Raphaël Favaro, has decided to change co-drivers and car; he has teamed up with Jacques Nicolet and replaced his Lotus Elan (1965) with an E-Type Jaguar (1962). And finally, Hamoniau-Lotthe, outgoing winners in the regularity category, will be at the start once again in a Ferrari 250 GT Lusso (1963).

The late-comers haven’t got much time left if they want to be part of the 100 entries still to come. The selection committee will meet again in January 2020. The itinerary will be unveiled on Wednesday 4th December at 20:00. Watch this space…