Tour Auto Optic 2000: Lajournade win!

The 24th Tour Auto Optic 2ooo finished in the sun in the Cité de l’Océan in Biarritz. The 233 drivers, who had left the Grand Palais in Paris five days earlier, will have unforgettable memories of this itinerary that took them through the stop-over towns of Vichy, Clermont-Ferrand, Toulouse and Pau before they arrived on the Basque coast. While some came away with victories, all the participants will remember the sense of shared excitement and the sights of marvellous landscapes.

At the finish of this human and sportsmanlike adventure there was a winner, the crew Jean-Pierre Lajournade-Christophe Bouchet in their E-Type Jaguar. The first named had already won the event in 2010 in a Lotus Elan, and this year he clinched his second success in the Tour Auto Optic 2ooo. He emerged victorious after a no-holds-barred battle with Ludovic Caron-Charles de Villaucourt in their AC Cobra who took the flag only 31 seconds behind after 1907 km!

Other winners in the 2015 event were Philippe Vandromme-Frédéric Vivier in a Ford GT40 who came out on top in Group H snatching victory from Arnaud Gauduel-Alexandre Delaye (BMW 2800 CS) in the final stage. Belgians Christophe Van Riet-Kristoffer Cartenian (Porsche 911 RS 3.0) triumphed in Group H, and Frédéric Puren-Caroline Bertrand (Porsche Pré A) dominated the Index of Performance.

In the regularity section victory went to the Alpine A110 1600S driven by Jean-François and François Nicoules in front of the sister car of Georges Henri Meylan-Julien Stervinou.

Once again the spirit of the Tour Auto Optic 2ooo attracted big crowds. This was proved by the large number of spectators who flocked to the finish of the legs as well as the circuits of Magny-Cours, Charade, Albi and Pau-Arnos and the numerous special stages. The Tour Auto Optic 2ooo received broad media coverage, and certain journalists entered for the event just to be able to live this experience from the inside.

The Peter Auto Organisation would like to thank its numerous, faithful partners for their support, which is synonymous with perpetuating the enduring appeal of this event that is still the oldest currently being run. Now, all eyes are turned to 2016 the year in which the Tour Auto Optic 2ooo will celebrate its 25th anniversary.

Join Nathalie Vincent throughout the event on the Web TV Optic 2ooo to live the Tour Auto Optic 2ooo from the inside: