Lancia Stratos HF – revolution and domination

The Lancia Stratos marked a turning point in the history of rallying as it was the first car specifically designed for this type of event and represented a complete break with the road-going cars adapted for rallies.

The Stratos initially saw the light of day as a stylistic design presented at the 1970 Turin Motor Show. Its wedge-shaped lines from the pen of Nuccio Bertone were then translated into the road-going version.  

Once it had been homologated in 1974 the Lancia Stratos HF dominated the Rally World Championship for three years..

While Italian driver Sandro Munari and Markku Alen from Finland cemented their reputation in the Stratos, several other big names in French motor sport made a major contribution to its fabulous set of results led by Bernard Darniche and Jean-Claude Andruet as well as two-time Le Mans 24-Hours victor, Gérard Larrousse, who won the Targa Florio on Sicilian roads in 1974 in one..

The Lancia Stratos HF also reigned in the Tour de France Automobile scoring five victories in the great French classic, four for Darniche (1975-77-79-80) and one for Munari (1974).

You can see this car, a legend of 1970s’ road-going events, on the roads and circuits of the 2019 Tour Auto Optic 2000.

Watch also

Follow us on Youtube

Lancia Stratos HF, une révolution dominatrice

La Lancia Stratos a marqué une véritable tournant dans l’histoire des rallyes, en tant que première voiture conçue dans l’optique spécifique de ces compétitions, en rupture avec la tradition des modèles de route adaptés aux épreuves routières.

La Stratos voit d’abord le jour sous la forme d’une étude de style présentée au Salon automobile de Turin 1970. Sa ligne cunéiforme, signée Nuccio Bertone, est ensuite déclinée pour la version routière.

Une fois son homologation en compétition obtenue courant 1974, la Lancia Stratos HF domine pendant trois ans le Championnat du Monde des Rallyes.

Si l’Italien Sandro Munari et le Finlandais Markku Alen ont conquis avec la Stratos leurs lettres de noblesse, plusieurs grands noms du sport automobile français ont contribué à son fabuleux palmarès : en premier lieu Bernard Darniche et Jean-Claude Andruet… Ainsi qu’un double vainqueur des 24 Heures du Mans, Gérard Larrousse, qui s’impose à son volant sur les routes siciliennes de la Targa Florio en 1974.

La Lancia Stratos HF a également régné sur le Tour de France Automobile, avec cinq victoires : quatre pour Bernard Darniche (1975-77-79-80) et une pour Sandro Munari (1974).

Vous pourrez retrouver cette voiture de légende des compétitions routières des années 1970 sur les routes et circuits de l’édition 2019 du Tour Auto Optic 2000.